Core Knowledge

Banner image

What is Core Knowledge

Good Foundations Academy will utilize the Core Knowledge Curriculum

Sidebar image

From the Core Knowledge Foundation:             

"The Core Knowledge movement is an educational reform based on the premise that a grade-by-grade core of common learning is necessary to ensure a sound and fair elementary education. The movement was started by Professor E. D. Hirsch, Jr., author of Cultural Literacy and The Schools We Need, and is based on a large body of research in cognitive psychology, as well as a careful examination of several of the world's fairest and most effective school systems.             

Professor Hirsch has argued that, for the sake of academic excellence, greater fairness, and higher literacy, early schooling should provide a solid, specific, shared core curriculum in order to help children establish strong foundations of knowledge. After wide consultation, the content of this core curriculum has been outlined in two books: the Core Knowledge Preschool Sequence and the Core Knowledge Sequence, that state explicitly what students should learn at each grade level. Currently, hundreds of schools and thousands of dedicated educators are participating in this school reform movement throughout the United States."

Bottom left image
Bottom right image

Visit a Core Knowledge School

The following schools in the Core Knowledge community have been visited relatively recently by Foundation staff and were found to be implementing the Core Knowledge Sequence with fidelity. Schools considering adopting the Sequence are encouraged to visit these sites to see Core Knowledge in action.             


 Click Here for the full list of recommended schools.             

Good Foundations Academy is pleased to be included in this list. We welcome visitors at any time throughout the year. Please call the office to arrange a tour and a meeting with administration.            


GFA and Core Knowledge

GFA is implementing 100% of the Core Knowledge Sequence in all grades. It is GFA’s goal to become a Core Knowledge “School of Distinction”. This is accomplished by providing training to our teachers by certified Core Knowledge Consultants, completing site visits by representatives from the Core Knowledge Foundation, and submitting appropriate documentation to verify our implementation.        


GFA uses the following curriculum components to support our instruction:                 

  • Grades K-3: CKLA Core Knowledge Language Arts         
  • Grades K-6: Pearson/ Core Knowledge History & Geography Series    
  • Grades K-6: Nonfiction selections from Delta Science Readers, aligned to Core Knowledge Topics

The Core Knowledge Sequence lists a number of high-quality novels that are to be read at each grade level. This expectation for reading classic literature aligns with GFA’s mission to build knowledge and skills in reading.             

Alice's Adventure in WonderlandLewis Carroll3
Treasure IslandRobert Louis Stevenson4
Robinson Crusoe
Daniel Defoe
Adventures of Tom SawyerMark Twain5
Little WomenLouisa May Alcott5
Tales of Sherlock HolmesArthur Conan Doyle5
The Iliad and the OdysseyHomer6
The Prince and the PauperMark Twain6
The Call of the WildJack London6